Menu

Main Library quiet room
Yarn

Crafts

Casual Crafters This Fall

Calling all crafters from beginners to experienced! Casual Crafters will meet at both the Dr. James Carlson Library and the Northport Library this fall. Drop in any time, bring a project, and join a friendly group of crafters of all types – from yarn and needles to paper and ink. Not working on a craft at the moment? We’ll have some supplies on hand! No registration is required. Snacks and beverages will be provided or feel free to bring your own. Contact Amanda at 701.241.1354 for more information.
Upcoming dates and locations:
Sunday, Dec. 8 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 12 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 27 – Northport Library from 5 to 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 9 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 24 – Northport Library from 5 to 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 8 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.
Monday, March 23 – Northport Library from 5 to 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 5 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.
Monday, April 27 – Northport Library from 5 to 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 3 – Dr. James Carlson Library from 1 to 3:30 p.m.

Related Resources:
Supercraft: Easy Projects for Every Weekend by Sophie Pester (Adult Nonfiction)
Fairy House by Mike and Debbie Schramer (Adult Nonfiction)
Never Been Stitched: 45 No-sew & Low-sew Projects by Amanda Carestio (Adult Nonfiction)


Gnomes Craft

Join us to make an adorable felt and rice-filled Scandinavian gnome! All supplies provided. Program is recommended for adults. Pre-registration is required and opens November 16. Contact Jenilee at 701.241.8123 with any questions.
Saturday, Dec. 7 – Dr. James Carlson Library at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 10 – Northport Library at 6:30 p.m.

Crazy Crafts – Retro Edition

Everything old is new again. This series will bring back some favorite crafts from the past. These crafts are recommended for adults. All supplies will be provided. Pre-registration is required; register online or call 701.241.1492 for more information.

  • Ripple Crochet
    Are you a fan of throw-back throws? Come learn how to crochet a retro ripple, great for scarves and afghans. This class is intended for beginner to intermediate – some crochet experience is helpful, but not required. Registration opens December 19.
    Thursday, Jan. 9 – Main Library at 6:30 p.m.
    Saturday, Jan. 11 – Northport Library at 2 p.m.
  • Macramé Pendants
    The craze of the 70s is back! This time around you can learn a few basic knots to make a macramé pendant or key chain. Registration opens December 26.
    Thursday, Jan. 16 – Dr. James Carlson Library at 6:30 p.m.
    Saturday, Jan. 18 – Northport Library at 2 p.m.
  • Rag Rugs
    Got some extra fabric lying around? Do you want to learn a new skill? Join us at the Fargo Public Library to learn how to transform old T-shirts or worn sheets into something new using a latch hook - no sewing needed! This skill is sure to warm up any cold floor and add a splash of color! Registration opens January 9.
    Thursday, Jan. 30 – Main Library at 6:30 p.m.
    Saturday, Feb. 1 – Dr. James Carlson Library at 2 p.m.
  • Plastic Canvas Bookmarks
    Looking for an easy form of needlework? Plastic canvas might be just the thing! Learn basic techniques to make a bookmark. Registration opens January 16.
    Thursday, Feb. 6 – Dr. James Carlson Library at 6:30 p.m.
    Saturday, Feb. 8 – Main Library at 2 p.m.