Receiving A Citation
Your citation will include a bond amount; you have 14 calendar days to post this bond. There is a notification form printed on the back of your bond envelope. Please read it carefully to ensure that you do not miss any deadlines which are determined by state law.
If you post the required bond within 14-days after the offense date and request a hearing, you must appear at the time and date scheduled for the hearing. The bond amount for a non-criminal offense must be paid in full with a check, cash or money order; partial payments are not accepted. When Municipal Court is closed, you may deposit your bond in the drop box next to the court entrance.
If you wish to plead guilty and request an extension to pay the fine or to make a statement you must appear at 1:15 p.m. on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday within 14-days after the offense date.
If you do not follow the procedures as outlined, your driving privileges may be suspended by the North Dakota Drivers License and Traffic Safety Division or by the licensing authority in the state where you are licensed or where you live. The court may also issue a warrant for your arrest for failure to appear.
If the officer checked the option indicating you may fix an equipment problem on your vehicle, follow the procedures described on your citation. The signed Certificate of Inspection must be submitted to the Clerk of Court's Office within 14-days after the offense date in order to have the charge dismissed.
For information on getting points reduced on your driving record by attending a Defensive Driving Course, contact the North Dakota Drivers License Division at 701.328.2604.