Arts & Culture Commission

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Arts & Culture Commission - May 16, 2018 Minutes

The Regular Meeting of the Arts and Culture Commission of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the City Commission Room at City Hall at 4:00 o’clock p.m., Wednesday, March 16, 2018.

The Arts and Culture Commissioners present or absent were as follows:

Present: Arlette Preston, Deb Williams, Michael Olsen, Mark Johnson

Absent: Jon Offutt, Denese Odegaard

Chair Preston called the meeting to order and welcomed Members to the meeting.

Item 1: Order of Agenda
Mr. Olsen moved to approve the order of agenda. Second by Mr. Johnson. All members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 2: Minutes: Regular Meeting of March 21, 2018
Mr. Johnson moved the minutes of the March 21, 2018 Arts and Culture Commission meeting be approved. Second by Mr. Olsen. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 3: 2018 Budget
Chair Preston presented that there is approximately $12,000 in remaining funds, and also noted there are projects the may be forthcoming requesting funding.

Item 4: Electrical Box Art Proposal
Assistant Planner Brittany Rakowitz presented that the original RFP was limited to artists from Fargo, however, due to lack of submissions received, the BID opened the RFP to artists from Moorhead and West Fargo, and since received many submissions.

Mr. Olsen and Chair Preston noted they would like to see the Arts and Culture Commission included in recognition of projects they are a part of, and to increase awareness in the community of the Arts and Culture Commission.

Mr. Olsen moved to open the project to artists from Fargo, Moorhead and West Fargo. Second by Ms. Williams. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 5: Policies
Ms. Rakowitz presented the changes to the Policies document from the most recently distributed version relating to funding public art projects and opening up calls for projects to a wider audience. Ms. Rakowitz noted that the changes include the requirement to notify the Arts and Culture Commission for a project be opened to a wider area, prior to the commission issuing funds. Ms. Rakowitz noted that a commissioner or member of the public on a sub-committee selecting a project is not eligible to submit a proposal.

Ms. Williams moved to approve the policies presented. Second by Mr. Olsen. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Mr. Olsen moved to approve the maintenance plan. Second by Mr. Johnson. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 9 presented prior to item 6
Item 6: Collection Audit Findings
Ms. Rakowitz presented items that are currently being housed at the three public libraries and noted that staff is formalizing a process to coordinate with the Library on artwork that is being stored there.

Item 7: Updates on Previously Approved Projects
Ms. Rakowitz presented the status of the Electrical Box Art project, the Creative Bike racks, and the City Hall Art Panel RFP. Mr. Johnson inquired about updates to the RedBall project.

Item 8: Commission Job Descriptions Update
Ms. Williams presented a draft of the commission job descriptions and she and Mr. Olsen, which is to be used as a guide to the commissioners and helping newly appointed commissioners. Chair Preston suggested commissioners email comments to Ms. Williams.

Presented before item 6
Item 9: Sub-Committee Participation
Ms. Williams presented on the proposed sub-committee structure, which would begin with a pool of interested applicants who would be selected based on who might be the most appropriate for a particular project to review and select. Chair Preston asked the sub-committee information be included in the policy document.

Item 10: Updated Work Plan
Planning Coordinator Maegin Elshaug presented an updated work plan with changes to the timeline.

Item 11: Integrating Artists and City Planning, The Fargo Project Lessons Learned
Chair Preston commented on building capacity of the commission and staff by incorporating a small piece of education at meetings.

Item 12: Communications
Chair Preston noted that communications coming from the Planning Department may come from administrative staff.

Item 13: Other Business or Public Comments
Commissioners discussed vacant Commission seats and process to seat new commissioners.

The time at adjournment was 5:33 p.m.