Arts & Culture Commission

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Arts & Culture Commission

The Arts and Culture Commission makes recommendations to the City Commission regarding the commissioning and placement of public art owned by the city, and works to encourage the display of public art by all citizens, developers, and property owners.

Commission Duties

  • Managing the public art collection and facilitating new public art within the city.
  • Guiding the development of a public art master plan.
  • Identifying opportunities for public art within current and future capital improvement projects.
  • Promoting public art through education.

The Arts and Culture Commission was created by Ordinance No. 4049 adopted by the City Commission on November 24, 2014. (Article 20-08 of Chapter 20 of the Ordinances was adopted on April 13, 2015).

The purpose of the Commission is to ensure that public art continues to be a valuable part of Fargo to encourage the display of public art by citizens, developers, property owners, architects and buildings; to provide a process for review and recommendation to the City Commission of the commissioning and placement of public art by the City; and to ensure that existing public art is properly displayed and maintained and that it is accessible to the general public.

The Arts and Culture Commission is to prepare and adopt by-laws and rules governing its own operation at its first meeting following January 1st each year and shall elect a chair and vice-chair to serve until their successors are elected and qualified. The majority of the existing and qualified members of the Arts and Culture Commission shall constitute a quorum for the conduct of business.

The City Commission shall annually appropriate funds, within budget limitations, for the operation of the Arts and Culture Commission.

The Arts and Culture Commission shall consist of nine (9) members who shall be residents of the City of Fargo. One member shall be a current member of the Board of City Commissioners; one member shall be a representative of the Downtown Community Partnership if available; one member shall be a representative of an established neighborhood association if available; and four members shall have a background in arts and humanities or shall have experience participating in the arts and culture activities in the community. The rest of the members shall be at large and shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to ratification and approval by the Board of City Commissioners.

Meeting Schedule & Location

The Commission meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 4 p.m. in the City Commission Room at 200 3rd Street North. Meetings are broadcast live on cable channel TV Fargo 56 and can be seen live as They are rebroadcast each Saturday at 4 p.m.

All meetings are open to the public. People with disabilities who plan to attend the meeting and need special accommodations should contact the Planning and Development Department at 701.241.1474 or TDD at 701.241.8258. Please contact us at least 48 hours before the meeting to give our staff adequate time to make arrangements.