Community Development Committee

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Community Development Committee - April 20, 2021 Minutes

The Regular Meeting of the Community Development Committee of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the Commission Chambers at City Hall at 2:30 p.m., Tuesday, April 20, 2021.

The Community Development Committee Members present or absent were as follows:

Present: Commissioner John Strand, Mayor Tim Mahoney, Robin Nelson, Linda Klebe, Michael Redlinger, John Gunkelman, Chris Brungardt, Samantha McDonald, Ken Enockson, Thomas Hill (United Way), Mark Puppe (HBA FM), Lora Larson (DCP)

Item 1. Approval of Agenda and Minutes: Regular Meeting of December 15, 2020
Member McDonald moved the Order of Agenda and the minutes of the December 15, 2020 Community Development Committee meeting be approved as presented. Second by Member Gunkelman. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 2. Public Comment
No public comment was presented.

Item 3. Housing Strategies Presentations
a. City Introduction – Planning Staff
Planning and Development Director Nicole Crutchfield introduced the presentations on housing strategies.

The following agencies provided a background and overview of their programs and services. They shared concerns and needs for their respective agencies relating to housing.

b. Landlord and Tenant Resources – Beyond Shelter, Inc.
Lisa Rotvold and Dan Madler presented.

Member Mahoney Absent.

c. Overflow Sheltering – New Life Center
Neil Hines and Rob Swiers presented.

Member Redlinger Absent.

d. Engagement Center – Public Health Harms Reduction Team
Jan Eliasson and Leah Siewert presented.

e. Prevention and Diversion – Presentation Partners in Housing
Sarah Kennedy presented.

Item 4. Discussion
Chair Strand thanked each of the presenters, and extended gratitude for their work and being unsung heroes in the community.

Item 5. Adjourn
The time at adjournment was 3:56 p.m.