Fargo Announces Closure of All Facilities to the Public Beginning on March 19

Essential City services are operating; citizens can reach us at FargoND.gov/Virtual

Read More >

close alert box

Community Development Committee

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Community Development Committee - December 17, 2019 Minutes

The Regular Meeting of the Community Development Committee of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the Commission Chambers at City Hall at 2:30 p.m., Tuesday, December 17, 2019.

The Community Development Committee Members present or absent were as follows:

Present: Jim Johnson, Linda Klebe, John Gunkelman, Samantha McDonald, Ken Enockson, Thomas Hill (United Way)

Absent: Commissioner John Strand, Mayor Tim Mahoney, Michael Redlinger, Chelsea Diedrich (HBA FM), Matthew Pike, Melissa Rademacher (DCP)

Item 1. Welcome
Acting Chair Gunkelman welcomed Members to the meeting and introductions were made.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda
McDonald moved to approve the Order of Agenda as presented. Second by Hill. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 3. Approval of Minutes: Regular Meeting of October 15, 2019
Member McDonald moved the minutes of the October 15, 2019 Community Development Committee meeting be approved. Second by Klebe. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 4. Public Comment
No public comment was provided.

Item 5. Announcements & Interests
a. Presentation by Cultural Liaison Officer Vince Kempf (on Community Engagement Team – Cultural Liaison & Community Trust)

Cultural Liaison Officer Vince Kempf, Fargo Police Department, gave a presentation on the Community Engagement Team and the work they do in the Fargo community. He noted primary goals included building positive relationships with New Americans and cultural groups, helping people to succeed, and building trust between the community and law enforcement, especially with youth.

Officer Kempf provided an overview of some of the programs including survival swimming lessons for youth, adult art programs, a summer camp, and use of the Community Engagement Team gaming trailer and transportation bus. He also highlighted proposed programs to be held at the Fargo Police Department Community Engagement Center.

Member Johnson present.

b. Presentation by Jan Eliassen, Gladys Ray Emergency Homeless Shelter & Cody Schuler, Fargo Moorhead Coalition to End Homelessness (CARES – coordinated entry & referral, diversion, housing navigation)

Jan Eliassen, Gladys Ray Emergency Homeless Shelter, and Cody Schuler, Fargo Moorhead Coalition to End Homelessness, gave a brief overview and presentation regarding the CARES (Coordinated Access Referral Entry and Stabilization System). They noted that collaboration between the shelters supports a seamless flow in access to homeless programs and services.

Ms. Eliassen noted all the shelters work well together, currently are all very full, and have been creative to get people indoors. Mr. Schuler stated progress is being made, but more work needs to be done to look at the big picture for housing.

Item 6. 2020 Meeting Schedule
Planning and Development Director Nicole Crutchfield shared that the 2020 meeting dates are included in the packet. She noted that a survey will be going out to Members for feedback on meeting dates and frequency.

Item 7. Staff Report
a. Social Service Fund
Ms. Crutchfield provided an update on the Social Service Funds and noted that the application period is currently on hold until the CDBG 5- year action plan has been finalized. She also gave a reminder the Social Service funds are comprised of local tax dollars and are not federally funded. She stated the importance of coordinating goals before moving forward.

b. CDBG/HOME HUD updates
Planning Coordinator Tia Braseth provided an updated on the development of the 5-year plan. She noted that the due date is August 2020 and currently a needs assessment survey is available for public input.

Item 8. Other Business
No other business was presented.

Item 9. Adjourn
Member Enockson moved to adjourn the meeting. Second by Member Hill. The motion was declared carried.

The time at adjournment was 3:31 p.m.