Community Development Committee

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Community Development Committee - January 16, 2018 Minutes

Regular Meeting: Tuesday, January 16, 2018

The Regular Meeting of the Community Development Committee of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the City Commission Room at City Hall at 2:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 16, 2018.

The Community Development Committee Members present or absent were as follows:

Present: Commissioner John Strand, Mayor Tim Mahoney, Linda Boyd, Michael Redlinger, Shara Fischer, Lynn Fundingsland, Samantha McDonald, Thomas Hill (United Way)

Absent: Linda Klebe, Sami Eidenschink (FM HBA), Melissa Rademacher (DCP)

Item 1. Welcome
Chairperson Strand welcomed Members to the meeting and introductions were made.

Item 2. Approval of Minutes: Regular Meeting of November 21, 2017
Mr. Hill moved the minutes of the November 21, 2017 Community Development Committee meeting be approved. Second by Mr. Fundingsland. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Ms. McDonald suggested the addition of affiliations be added to the minutes.

Item 3. Review Storefront Rehab Application – 1303 1st Avenue North: APPROVED
Planning Director Nicole Crutchfield introduced the proposed storefront rehabilitation project to be considered for Community Development Block Grant funding. She added that the project has been reviewed and approved by the Historic Preservation Commission. Applicant Adrian Greiff spoke on behalf of the project.

Ms. Boyd moved to approve the Community Development Block Grant for Storefront Rehab in the amount of $15,000. Second by Ms. McDonald. On call of the roll Members Fischer, Boyd, McDonald, Hill, Fundingsland, Redlinger, and Strand voted aye. Absent and not voting: Members Mahoney, Rademacher, Eidenschink, and Klebe. The motion was declared carried.

Item 4. Urban Agriculture (Gardening) – University Drive South
Ms. Crutchfield introduced Urban Planning Coordinator Maegin Elshaug, and gave a brief summary of the project.

Ms. Elshaug presented the project and a background of the properties involved, noting that the sites would be a good location to allow community gardening.

Discussion was held regarding the current ownership of the sites by Cass County and the process to transfer them to the City of Fargo, as well as the accessibility of the sites.

Director of Strategic Planning and Research Jim Gilmour explained the deed restrictions and limitations of what can be placed on the sites. He noted a community garden would be ideal for the proposed locations.

Mr. Redlinger moved to recommend to the City Commission to: 1) Acquire the properties at 7009, 7103-7213 from Cass County and 2) Task the City Attorney’s office to work with the Planning Department and other involved City departments, to establish the necessary documents to allow community gardening at these sites. Second by Ms. Fischer. On call of the roll Members McDonald, Boyd, Hill, Fischer, Fundingsland, Redlinger and Strand voted aye. Absent and not voting: Members Mahoney, Rademacher, Eidenschink, and Klebe. The motion was declared carried.

Item 5. Housing Overview Update – Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority
Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority (FHRA) Executive Director Lynn Fundingsland presented an overview of the current and future needs of the FHRA. He presented a handout to the board of FHRA HUD Capital Fund Receipts over the past 20 years.

Discussion was held on the condition of the facilities, specifically the High Rise, and concerns of decreasing funding for improvements, maintenance, and security.

Ms. Crutchfield and Mr. Strand suggested the addition of this item to a future agenda to allow staff time to put some strategies together.

Item 6. Overflow Sheltering Update
Ms. Crutchfield gave an update on the overflow sheltering situation in the Fargo-Moorhead area. She noted providing transportation to the overflow shelter location is still a concern.

Mayor Mahoney present.

Discussion was held regarding the capacity of existing shelters, prioritization of access, and possible long-term solutions.

Item 7. Other Business
Mr. Strand shared with the Board Ms. Crutchfield’s new title of Planning Director as well as
Mr. Gilmour’s new title of Director of Strategic Planning and Research.

Planner Tyrone Grandstrand shared that the Community Land Trust (CLT) subcommittee will have an upcoming meeting.

Item 8. Adjourn
The time at adjournment was 3:51 p.m.