Fargo Announces Closure of All Facilities to the Public Beginning on March 19

Essential City services are operating; citizens can reach us at FargoND.gov/Virtual

Read More >

close alert box

City News Room

News & Events header

Native American Commission seeks nominations for Gladys Ray Indigenous Peoples Day Award


The Fargo Native American Commission is seeking nominations for the Gladys Ray Indigenous Peoples Day Award for individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Indigenous Peoples of Fargo. The recipient will be formally recognized on Indigenous Peoples Day Monday, October 14, 2019. The deadline for returning nomination forms is Wednesday, September 25, 2019.

The Gladys Ray Award was created in honor of Gladys Shingobe Ray. In her family’s words, she was a dedicated lifelong human rights advocate and volunteer, who served her community through involvement in many organizations and by assisting in the development of many programs. She advocated for all people, especially American Indians, children and the homeless. She served as a mentor and adviser to many individuals and for many projects. Gladys was devoted to sharing her love, wisdom and strength with all of her family, friends and all she knew.

To nominate someone for the award, complete the nomination form and email it to Planning, or return hard copies to the City of Fargo Planning Department (225 4th Street North, Fargo, ND 58102) no later than September 25. Call 701.241.1474 for more information.

The mission of the Fargo Native American Commission is to work together to strengthen the Native American community in order to promote understanding, recognition and respect for Native American cultures and enrich the whole community. The Native American Commission meets on the first Thursday of every month at noon in the City Commission Chambers, City Hall, 225 4th Street North. A public comment period is provided at all meetings. For more information, visit the Native American Commission’s page on the City of Fargo’s website: FargoND.gov/NativeAmericanCommission.