Metro Flood Diversion Authority

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Metro Flood Diversion Authority

The communities of Fargo, ND and Moorhead, MN, along with Cass County, ND, Clay County, MN, and the Cass County Joint Water Resources District have signed a joint powers agreement that forms a Flood Diversion Board of Authority.

The purpose is to build and operate a flood diversion channel along the Red River of the North to reduce the flood risk of the stakeholder communities and counties.

The Diversion Authority and its members worked with the United States Army Corps of Engineers on the FM Metro Flood Risk Management Feasibility Study to develop the flood diversion channel project.

The Diversion Authority is led by thirteen board members from the stakeholder entities.

Learn more about the Metro Flood Diversion Authority at