Human Rights Commission

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Human Rights Commission

October 16, 2000 Ordinance No. 4081 was adopted by the City Commission enacting Article 15-02 of Chapter 15 of the Fargo Municipal Code.

As a result, the Fargo Human Relations Commission was created. The commission works to promote acceptance and respect for diversity and discourages all forms of discrimination. One such way the commission achieves this is through the support of the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day celebration.

On December 27, 2021, the Fargo City Commission approve the renaming of the Human Relations Commission's to be called the Human Rights Commission.

Commission Members

The committee consists of eleven volunteer members who are nominated by the Mayor and appointed by the City Commission. Each serves a three-year term. The Human Rights Commissioners represent a broad range of racial, religious, ethnic, social, economic, political and professional groups.

Liaison to the City's Executive Office

Commissioner John Strand is the liaison to The Fargo Human Rights Commission, Native American Commission, and LGBTQ community.

Meeting Schedule & Location

The Commission meets on the third Thursday of each month at 12 p.m. in the Commission Chambers, City Hall, 225 4th Street North, Fargo, ND 58102. A public comment period is provided.

Commission sub-committees meet at various times during the month. The public is also welcome to attend these. For a schedule of these meetings, contact the Planning Department or call us at 701.241.1474.

Meetings are broadcast live on cable channel TV Fargo 56 and can be seen live at They are rebroadcast each Thursday at 12 p.m.

People with disabilities who plan to attend the meeting and need special accommodations should contact the Planning and Development Department or call at 701.241.1474 or TDD at 701.241.8258. Please contact us at least 48 hours before the meeting to give our staff adequate time to make arrangements.